…while we’re making other plans

When you’ve been single for an extended period of time, there is a very small part of you that is secretly giving up already. Once you pass the 6-month mark, the year mark, and none of your first dates are going anywhere, the thought starts to cross your mind that it just might not happen for you. You start to make jokes about becoming a Crazy Cat Lady and giggle ridiculously at any and all references to that. If you are as imaginative (re: slightly psychotic) as I, you even begin naming your future cats ahead of time, for the sake of being prepared.

One is named Schnookums, and she has her own Facebook page. She is witty and fabulous and everyone should probably be her friend.

You enjoy your single time- going to see the movies that you want to see, taking up interesting hobbies that make you a more well-rounded person, and spend a hell of a lot of time with your amazing friends, who totally don’t mind when you’re the third wheel.

At some point, you may decide to give online dating a try. And then belatedly decide to blog about it, and share your experiences. Because in the back of your mind, you’re thinking “This is probably not going to work and it’s going to take a while and at least I’ll get some good awkward stories out of it.”

What you DON’T consider the possibility of is that you’ll try online dating for 3 months, have very little come of it, and that a guy you had a crush on in middle school with contact you completely out of the blue and want to get together for dinner to “catch up” which will lead to a series of dates and him meeting your parents and omg we’re exclusive WHAT ABOUT MY BLOG?!

Didn’t catch that?

Around the time that I was going on my last date with Armstrong Guy, I was contacted by a childhood friend who had lived in my neighborhood and changed schools around the time that I was starting high school. We lost touch for 13 years, during which we completed high school, I went to college, worked a bunch of jobs, dated a bunch of guys that weren’t right for me and ended up here. Blogging about being single.

He, on the other hand, graduated high school, joined the National Guard, went to college, had to put college on hold because he was activated and sent to Iraq, came home, got married, and is getting a divorce.

Obviously, because I am not the most subtle person in the world, the lightbulb has gone off and my many many (re: 4.7) readers (but I FRICKIN LOVE YOU AND YOU’RE THE BEST READERS EVER) have realized that I’m talking about Army Boy.

“They” say that you’ll find exactly what you’re looking for when you least expect it.

“They” say that “Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.” Like, other plans to be single forever and blog about it and be almost as cool as the mommybloggers I idolize except I’ll start a new contingent of crazy fabulous single cat-lady bloggers? Hell yeah, those were my plans.

Wait, there’s already a contingent of crazy fabulous single cat-lady bloggers?

Yeah right.

Anyway, “They” were frickin right again.

I’ve been putting off writing this post for about a month now, because a: my blog is really only one month old and I thought I’d have a lot more stories to share and b: knowing whether something has potential takes time, and is even more complicated when there’s a divorce in the picture.

At this point, though, I’m fairly certain that there is no more online dating in my foreseeable future. While that may disappoint some (ie: 2) of my readers, I’m still going to keep blogging because I’m a total attention whore because I have blogger idols that have actually READ me which makes me jump around in unadulterated joy I’ve found that I really enjoy it.

I solemnly swear, oh Internet, that I will not get boring just because I am no longer pimping myself out to hordes of virtual men. Who are representative of actual men. That I’m not dating.

Because… *squee!*

Army Boy. 🙂

One thought on “…while we’re making other plans

  1. I am still going to be a cat lady. I spent approximately 90 minutes charming Becky’s cat, and am now watching the food network and eating ben and jerry’s. woo!

Leave a Reply

