She Said It Better

After seeing Dar Williams live earlier this year, I gained new insight into this song.

Lately it feels appropriate.

 

“We could pretend that we’re walking on petals and light, golden light

Flaunting our love like a dance step mastered, turning from left to right

But after all the colored lights are gone

Time will leave the ashes and the dawn

You rise and meet the day…

Watching you go, it’s like spying on hope ever onward with more to burn

Giving your hands and your heart to the weave of the world, though it fights each turn

But you do not give up so easily

That’s how I know you won’t surrender me

You rise and meet the day

It’s all I need, it’s all I need to know, it’s all I need to know…”

 

~”You rise and meet the day,” Dar Williams from “My Better Self”

Leave a Reply

