The Nerd’s Christmas Playlist

Holy Crap, Internets! While I was redoing a project for work for, oh, the THIRD EFFING TIME because The Other is an incompetent ass  I should never trust her  I am slightly Type-A, I realized that it’s officially time to bust out the Christmas music on the iPod. Why this didn’t connect with me after Thanksgiving, I don’t know. Why I didn’t think of it last week, the first week of December- well shit. I had a lot on my mind. Ok? Cut me some slack.

Yes, I keep my delicious musical offerings on there all year round, because you never know when you’ll need to listen to “Linus and Lucy” and bust out the Peanuts dance. Beyonce probably does it better. Just sayin'.

Shut up. You do it. I know you do. And if you don’t, you should try it. I personally prefer the pigeon-toed boppy style, a la the kid in the yellow shirt.

And now, because I know you’re practically peeing your pants wanting to know “Oh, Nerdy Txtingmrdarcy, what do you have on YOUR Christmas playlist??” I present my faves.

“Green And Gold”~ Sugarland

New holiday cds are like strippers… They tantalize you with their wintery graphics and shiny wrappers. “Ooo, who jumped on the holiday bandwagon this year?” you wonder, as you pause by the display at Target. And shit, I can’t say no to Sugarland. Mostly because I have a girly crush on Jennifer Nettles. Her voice is like melted chocolate or a glass of cabernet. Rich, lush, and oh-so-womanly. She could sing some prior auth criteria for me and I’d frickin love it.

“Holiday Spirits”~ Straight No Chaser

If you haven’t heard this all male a capella group’s version of “The 12 Days of Christmas,” get to Youtube, iTunes, or Amazon right now. And then buy the cd. It’s brilliant. And I can’t get through that track without laughing, and jumping up from my cube to force some unsuspecting coworker to listen to it. Sorry Genius Boy. And Amanda. And Courtney. And… Oh, where was I?

“The Hotel Café Presents: Winter Songs”~ Various Artists

Consider yourself a bit of a music snob? This is the album for you. Christmas/Winter songs by some indie (and not so indie) darlings, including Sarah Bareilles, Ingrid Michaelson, Colbie Caillat and Priscilla Ahn. Sara and Ingrid’s duet alone is worth the cost of the download/album.

“A Charlie Brown Christmas”~ The Vince Guaraldi Trio

Oh yeah. If I know you don’t have this album, you will probably be getting it for Christmas. How many times have I watched “Charlie Brown Christmas?” Too many to count. Nothing stirs up nostalgia like the opening piano chords of “O Tannenbaum” or the lazy swirls of “Skating.” It’s also great jazzy background music for holiday get-togethers.

“The Christmas Song”~ Nat King Cole/”Crooner’s Christmas”~ Various Artists

Nat King Cole’s version of “The Christmas Song” is the ultimate classic. I’ve been listening to it since it was in record form, and though I didn’t love it as a little Brooke (“This is crackly and stupid. Put on Manheim Steamroller!”)(God, I’m so ashamed.), I definitely more than appreciate it now. “Crooner’s Christmas” is a wicked cheap compilation with songs from Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Nat King Cole. You have to be willing to suffer through a little Clay Aiken with that one, though. (*vom*)

Now excuse me while I grab some eggnog, go curl up by the fire and get my Christmas Groove on.

What are your holiday music must-haves, Internet?

8 thoughts on “The Nerd’s Christmas Playlist

  1. Oh yes. Pigeon-toed boy is definitely the one. Although I’m also fond of my sweet Linus.

    I’ve never really gone for full albums of Christmas music, I like making a playlist of my favorites including hymns, Bing Crosby type stuff plus one of my all-time melancholy faves – 2000 Miles by The Pretenders. (Both Coldplay and KT Tunstall made godawful covers of it). Chrissie Hynde’s voice goes straight to the core.

  2. OMG…I totally crush on Jenifer Nettles. Nothing makes my day like belting out “STAY” at the top of my lungs in the drop off line at my kid’s school.

    And who couldn’t love the Peanuts song? I secretly crunch on Luis too, but I’m mature enough to know nothing will come of it. *sigh*

    I had a Christmas playlist till I dropped my ipod in the toilet. Hopefully Santa will get over his snit and bring me a new one.

    • *lmao!!!*

      What IS it with that song?! Everyone sounds awesome singing it. Mmmmrph, love to put my *scorned woman who grows balls* face on and belt it out.

    • Josh Groban is such a guilty pleasure. I’m not even sure why he makes me feel guilty. Like I want to put on my old woman sweater and buy a bunch of cats.

  3. I love Christmas music! I tend to just listen to the radio station that plays only Christmas songs. It serves two purposes: 1.) I LOVE CHRISTMAS and 2.) Nobody ever wants to drive with me.

    • I just made that switch this morning, and went from “Monday sucks, monday sucks…” to “Chestnuts roasting on an open fiiiiiire….”

  4. Pingback: The Nerd’s Fall Playlist « Txting Mr Darcy

Leave a Reply

