And Now For Something Completely Different…

For some bizarre reason, I was ridiculously inspired on a Tuesday morning to add a new section to my little home on the web. As you’ll notice, there’s now a “Reads” tab, in addition to the blog and “Meet the Cast” pages.

Let me start by saying that this isn’t meant to be a book club of any kind, and that I’m not under the misapprehension that everyone cares about my opinions regarding various books. If you find yourself inspired to pick up one of the books, or even read along with me for moral support that would be amazing and probably help to get my ass in gear.

That said, this page is part of my own personal goal for 2010, which is to take time for me. When I was single, this wasn’t an issue. I could fill my time with yoga, Singers and the band, and still had plenty of time each day to sit for a little and relax, and lose myself in a good book. Reading has always been a vital part of who I am as a person, and it was nothing to me to get through 2-3 books a week.

Through a combination of dating, work, social activities and now a relationship, that time has been shrinking steadily to the point where I’m lucky if I get a few minutes before bed each night to read a chapter. Not only do I miss that time, I’ve also got THIS staring me in the face:

This is The Crate. It’s where I store new books after I purchase them, to differentiate “Read” (on my bookshelves) from “Unread.” At this point, “Unread” is clearly Out Of Control.

This is me holding myself accountable. Granted, if I gave myself any kind of deadline, it would be much more effective, but I’m not quite ready to do that yet. I’m hoping that if I just tell myself “STOP NOW,” I’ll be able to walk away from the laundry/ironing/cleaning/blogging (sorry!) and make a little time in the day to just escape and enjoy.

I will be posting on the Reads page as I finish each new book, with a brief summary and if I recommend the book. As you can see a little from the pic, I’ve got some amazing new hardcovers that I can’t wait to get to. I’ll also make an effort to include a note on my main page letting you know if I’ve finished a new book, and to check it out.

So! Check it out, and read my first attempt at a review of the new novel by Audrey Niffenegger. Really. It will save you the read, promise. 😉

*Note: These are books that I or family/friends/awesome boyfriend have purchased and are not in any way sponsored reviews. Which I would TOTALLY DO if given the opportunity. Am book whore.*

3 thoughts on “And Now For Something Completely Different…

  1. I know what you mean about the lack of time, lately I’m lucky if I read half a page before the book falls on my face. I’m plodding through Barbara Kingsolver’s latest. Love most of her earlier books, but this one isn’t grabbing me yet.

  2. I just read Nanny Returns!!!!! How cool to see it there in your unread crate…I could not put it down. It was a good sequel to the original, though in a darker (oh my goodness, please turn this thing around!) kind of way. Would love to hear your review eventually.

    • Oh yay, thanks Lianne! I have to admit, I’m struggling with “The Shadow of the Wind,” and ever so tempted to turn to “Nanny Returns” as some fluff reading. Something to remind myself that “YES! I can speed through a book in a matter of days (when I’m really into it) rather than slogging away depressingly for weeks.”

      It’s a light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

