*Crash!*

After the month of January, I don’t find myself the least bit surprised that I am suddenly flattened with a sinus infection. I wish that I could be the type of woman who does it all, all the time on very little sleep. Sadly, I’m not. And when I do try for it?

*CRASH*

The timing couldn’t be worse, obviously. With the various appointments in the coming weeks because of house-related (squee!) business, I need to be at work as much as possible.  But to continue to push through feeling like butt could just lead to this nagging grossness lasting for longer than necessary.

Today I’m allowing myself a day to get things under control. A day to do nothing more that sleep, if that’s what I want to do.

I’ve already been to the doctor and the pharmacy, all within an hour’s time. Bear with me here, I do have a point. I think.

Here in small-town PA, the main medical facility sits regally in a hill surrounded by a field. Attached to it are an imaging facility, a lab, and a mom-and-pop pharmacy. This morning, when I decided that the best use of my day off would be getting to the doctor and getting antibiotics if necessary, I was given an appointment half an hour after I called to make it. From there, I was leaving the doctor’s office after half an hour, and walking next door to the pharmacy. Which filled my rx in less than 10 minutes. With driving, I was out of the house for an hour, and am now back on the couch in sweatpants, ready to go and sleep for however long feels right.

As I exited the pharmacy, the view was simply of fields and farms sleeping for the winter. About 300 yards away runs the one main road that travels continuously through our area.  A wooden post off to my right was marked as a “hitching post”, for those Amish visitors that would also choose to use the medical facility.

I was struck by a sense of rightness, and that I wouldn’t want to be living anywhere else. Small town life just agrees with me. Knowing that I’ll be able to accomplish what I need to quickly, even when not feeling well is appealing. The continuity of using the same banks, pharmacies and grocery stores for the last 16 years spells “home” to me.

I never really understood my classmates in school, whose only goal was to “get the hell out of town.” What was so bad about our town? They went on to huge universities, in cities if they could, and after the fact had no desire to return to the place they’d grown up. “There’s NOTHING there. It’s so boring!” It’s true. We have a small movie theater, and all our basic needs are met here in town. The closest mall is about 15 minutes away. York, Lancaster and Harrisburg are all about equidistant from where we reside. It actually feels unbelievably convenient to me, but I can see where it might be boring to some.

Perhaps I was given some perspective living in Rhode Island until I was 8, and returning to visit multiple times each year. Everything runs at a faster pace up there. It’s unquestionably more urban, there are less of the open spaces that I’ve become accustomed to out here. Yes, I miss having the Dunkin Donuts’ on every corner. But I wouldn’t trade where I am now for the world. I don’t think that I really ever doubted that I’d end up living here in what I consider my “hometown.” It doesn’t feel constricting or stifling like it might for some. It just feels familiar and safe, and to me that’s what home is. It’s where my family is, it’s where Army Boy’s family is, and it seems a natural place for us to set down our roots.

I was also struck by how lucky I am to have found a partner that desires exactly the same thing in a home. As Army Boy started texting me during his lunch break, I updated him on my sexxxay condition, and said “Did I mention that I love Town?”

“Did I mention that I love Town?” came the reply.

“You do? Maybe we should think of living here, ” I sent back with a smile.

“Funniest thing- I saw the perfect little house for sale the other day,” was his response.  “But there’s a ‘sold’ sign out in front of it now.”

(Seriously. It’s not remotely getting old. Saying “my house?” “Our house?” How freakin cool is that?!)

Leave a Reply

