Txting Mr Darcy Reads: “Angelology”

Remember that time on the “Reads” page when I was all “I just finished Percy Jackson, so now I’m going to read something mature and literary?” Yeah, I was full of shit.

No no, don’t get me wrong. I really TRIED to read “Oryx and Crake.” I’m about halfway through it.

Then. The evil that is People™ magazine had a review about a new book called “Angelology,” and I was immediately intrigued. I pre-ordered it right away, and when it came, dropped any reading (Ahem, sorry Margaret Atwood) to devote my time to it.

It’s had me up until midnight every night this week. Check out the review on the Reads page.

(Plus, not gonna lie. “Oryx and Crake” is soooo literary, it makes me feel like a certain someone takes herself too seriously. And didn’t they make that into a movie? Starring Tom Hanks and a Volleyball? No? Hmm.

*waits to get struck by Serious Literature lightning bolt*)

4 thoughts on “Txting Mr Darcy Reads: “Angelology”

  1. Oh good lord. As a Canadian I’ve read lots of Margaret Atwood but she’s so inaccessible! Have you read The Handmaid’s Tale? That’s the first one of hers that I read, years ago. I read oryx and crake a couple of years ago but I must admit I can’t remember a darn thing about it.

    Have you read Barbara Kingsolver’s “The Poisonwood Bible”. Great narrative and characters from beginning to end. I love her writing although enjoyed her earlier novels and essays best.

    My favourite book of all time is The Diviner’s by Margaret Laurence (another Canadian). I loved it so much that I’ve only read it twice, and not for about 15 years because I’m so afraid I won’t love it the same on re-reading.

    I like dipping into a good literary tome once in a while (try Robertson Davies – he’ll have you reading with one hand on the dictionary/thesaurus the whole time), whether the “classics” or more recent. But I mostly love a good narrative, and also good memoirs. Try Ruth Reichl – she wrote three great memoirs about her life leading up to her career as a food writer. Juicy stuff and great stories. And MFK Fisher – delicious. Oh, and short stories – just pick any compilation by Alice Munro and you’re good to go.

    Oh oh… (I think I’ve had too much green tea today) …also, I just pulled The Crystal Cave off my shelf by Mary Stewart – have you read that trilogy? If you like the Merlin (King Arthur) characters at all, they’re a great read.

    okay, that’s it. I’m going to bed.

    • Ohhhh, thank you for the suggestions. I love King Arthur legends too- “The Mists of Avalon” is one of my all-time favorite books.

      I DID read “The Poisonwood Bible,” and books like that are my favorites. Immense books that let you get totally immersed for a long period of time… It’s why I’m tempted to revisit “Gone With The Wind” over and over again.

      I wanted to try “The Handmaid’s Tale,” but if it’s super-sparse and literary, I might avoid it.

    • I think that a book can be wonderfully written without being “literary”… if that makes any sense. 🙂 I’m totally with you.

Leave a Reply

