Summer Lovin’

Ok, I admit it. I haven’t been very good at keeping up with the Reads page lately. I have a review of Dean Koontz’s “Breathless” ready to go, but between the Singers concerts, the Great Plumbing Project of 2010, and Army Boy’s recent Adventure with Oral Surgery, I’ve been neglecting my online life. Ya know, in favor of the offline life. And recuperating from the offline life.

Part of my recent reluctance to get online and post legitimate updates has had to do with the fact that I’m absorbed in my actual reading, and to post means to stop.

It could be the fact that we’re steadily approaching summer, but something about the change of the air has made me crave Chick Lit. I’m not remotely ashamed to admit this fact- it’s pure escapism. Someone is always falling in love, falling out of love, going on a fabulous shopping spree or jetting off to the Hamptons.

The weekend of the Singers concerts, Army Boy brought home “Savor the Moment,” book 3 in the Nora Roberts Bride Quartet. The last book was released in November and I absolutely love the premise that she came up with. 4 books, 4 best friends, running a wedding planning business. Dresses, cakes, flowers, SEX. *squee!*

In honor of Summer, I’m giving myself time off from my relentless pursuit of The Crate and indulging in some of the chick lit and trashy romance novels that I already own. I’m sure I’ll throw in some more intellectual choices and possibly finish the Percy Jackson series, but for now it’s all brain candy.

After finishing “Savor the Moment,” I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Kate Hudson, Ginnifer Goodwin and John Krasinski are in New York City filming “Something Borrowed,” based on the novel by Emily Giffin. I made sure to grab both that and the sequel, “Something Blue” on my last visit home.

I may or may not have already finished them both.

I’m moving on to some more Nora Roberts, and per the recommendation of a friend, Kathleen Woodiwiss. It certainly doesn’t help my addiction that most of my favorite authors, including Jane Green and Emily Giffin are releasing new books over the course of the summer.

Even though we don’t have any plans for a beach vacation, I can still indulge in some beach reads! Are there any books or authors that would be a staple in your vacation/beach/pool bag?

5 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’

  1. I’m taking a “Me Day” on Monday and having nothing more strenuous planned than a day lounging around, reading Janet Evanovich’s latest Stephanie Plum installment. Light, funny as hell and a great way to soak up an afternoon.

    • I haven’t gotten into those, but have heard they’re very funny… Oh dear, more to feed my “addiction.”

  2. I love Nora Roberts’ cop/romance series written under “J.D. Robb,” the “…In Death” series. Great leading lady, a take no prisoners NY cop, with an awesome leading man.

    I’m also a big K. Woodiwiss fan! I also like Rachel Gibson, a great modern romance writer. Try “The Trouble With Valentine’s Day.” One of my favs. Enjoy!

  3. Two comments about Kathleen Woodiwiss? Soooooold. *click click click amazon ding!*

    Shhh. Don’t tell Army Boy.

Leave a Reply

