Recent Reads: “K.I.S.S. & Teal” Edition

If we’re friends on Facebook in any capacity (and, come on. Why wouldn’t we be?), you’re already seen me blathering about Avon Romance’s promotion to raise awareness about the symptoms of Ovarian Cancer.

If not- HEY! Check this out!

As I admitted in my last reads post, I’m craving the book equivalent of cotton candy right now. I want something sweet and fun that will help me wind down at the end of the day, but not keep my brain churning trying to analyze plot points or characters’ motives. In times like that, I tend to turn to Romance novels.

Fortunately, my craving for good smut coincided with National Ovarian Cancer Awareness month, and I found my way to Avon’s “K.i.s.s. and Teal” page. They’ve already donated $25,000 to the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance, and will donate up to $25,000 more with the purchase of their specially designated reads- both paperback and eBooks.

Ovarian cancer is the ninth most common cancer among women, and the fifth leading cause of cancer related death. Additionally, survival rates for ovarian cancer are lower than other cancers that affect women. From the Ovarian Cancer.org website:

* Women diagnosed with breast cancer in 1975 experienced a five-year survival rate of 75.3 percent; today, the American Cancer Society estimates the rate to be 89 percent.

* Women diagnosed with cervical cancer in 1975 experienced a five-year survival rate of 69 percent; today, the American Cancer Society estimates the rate to be 70 percent.

* Women diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 1975 experienced a five-year survival rate of 34.8 percent; today, the American Cancer Society estimates the rate to be 46 percent.

46 percent. Even worse, the mortality rate for ovarian cancer HAS NOT improved in the 40 years since the “war on cancer” was declared. It’s certainly sobering. That said, ANY effort to raise awareness about this form of cancer gets two thumbs up from me.

It was difficult for me to narrow down my choices from Avon’s list of designated books, but I think that the ones I ended up with will certainly fit the bill right now.

“Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue”~ Stephanie Laurens

You are cordially invited to the wedding of Miss Heather Cynster … but not before she encounters kidnappers, danger, and a daring rescue at the hands of Viscount Breckenridge

Determined to hunt down her very own hero, one who will sweep her off her feet and into wedded bliss, and despairing of finding him in London’s staid ballrooms, Heather Cynster steps out of her safe world and boldly attends a racy soiree.

But her promising hunt is ruined by the supremely interfering Viscount Breckenridge, who whisks her out of scandal—and straight into danger, when a mysterious enemy seizes her, bundles her into a coach, and conveys her out of London.

Now it’s up to the notorious Breckenridge to prove himself the hero she’s been searching for all along …

I’d had the Cynster series by Stephanie Laurens recommended to me by a fellow romance-lover (who I’d advised to RUN to the bookstore and buy the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn), but this was what it took to finally get me started on collecting them. This is the first in a new trilogy of books about three sisters and three weddings…plus a kidnapping. Everyone knows that a romance isn’t complete without a good kidnapping.

“The Deed”- Lynsay Sands

Lady Emmalene Eberhart wanted to do it. She’d even begged an audience with the King so that he would order her husband to do it— because she was determined to be a good wife. But then her husband died, and Emma remained a virgin.

Now the innocent young beauty finds herself with an ample dowry and promised to Amaury de Aneford, a landless knight whose able sword helped defend the King’s crown.

Surely her new husband would want to do the deed, for his rugged good looks certainly make Emma’s heart skip more than a beat. And Emma suspects there is more to a wedding night than just a sound sleep … and more to true love than she ever imagined.

Are you done laughing yet? Because I’m not. The description of this book cracked me up. It’s a riot for me to see a romance so blatantly advertise itself as being about The Sex. Further investigating into reviews led me to the conclusion that I’m in for belly laughs with this book, with a helping of romance on the side. Something tells me that more of Lynsay Sands’ books are going to end up in my “to read” pile in the not-so-distant future.

If I had time to pick up a third, it would definitely be Tessa Dare’s “A Night to Surrender.”

The best part? I can totally tell Army Boy that I needed to buy these. FOR A CAUSE. Everyone wins! To my reader friends, if you’re needing some direction for your next book selection, perhaps head over to Avon Romance and check out the selection. Nothing is better on a chilly winter night than a smutty romance, a cozy blanket and a glass of wine. Just a suggestion, really.

(Disclosure: Nope. Not a sponsored post. Thanks for indulging me today- I’ll return you to your regularly scheduled wedding nonsense.)

Leave a Reply

