Honeymoon Plan: Read ALL The Things!

Sometimes I feel like I’m the worst bride-to-be EVER. The title of this post should probably be something like “Have sex ALL of the places” or “Drink ALL of the Guinness” or something like that… yet all I can think of sharing is the pile of books that I have set aside, ready to be packed in my carry-on. When all is said and done, we have about 12 hours of travel time each way to reach our destination in Ireland, and since I have issues with sleeping on a moving anything, I plan to spend most of those hours reading. I also plan to have a raging case of jet-lag and probably be a total brat, but don’t tell Army Boy those things.

I’m sure it wouldn’t surprise you to know that I had strict criteria for the novels I plan on bringing on my travels- I tried to stick with mass market paper backs, for their easy pack-ability (Word? Not a word? My blog. It’s a word.) and ability to get the max amount of story into the smallest amount of space. I also wanted some great books that I’ve been dying to read, but might not pick up in my everyday reading, when I know that I’d have interruptions thrown at me constantly.

With that said, the current selections are:

“Clan of the Cave Bear”- Jean Auel

I picked this up years ago in high school, and ultimately abandoned it in favor of a: a smutty romance or b: something by Steven King. It was recommended to me recently by my cousin, and I thought now was the perfect time to give it another shot. It’s the ultimate in historical fiction (Neanderthals and the Ice age. It doesn’t get more historic than that.), and I don’t have to wait for the sequels. Win.

“A Game of Thrones”- George R. R. Martin (NOT the HBO tie-in version with Sean Bean on the cover because I am a snob.)

Apparently there’s buzz about this series on HBO? Or something? And it’s an epic fantasy will a bajillion characters and plot twists? *shrug*

(Enough said.)

“Pwned”- Erika Mitchell

I’ve been following Erika’s blog “Parsing Nonsense” since I started blogging, and she was expecting her son. Since then, she’s not only been busy raising Aidan, but writing at LEAST two books. “Pwned” is her first published work, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to have a copy in my hot little hands. Plus? Erika is amazingly sweet and humble, and we may or may not have some tricks up our sleeves. (She and I. Not me and “the others” in my head.) You’ll just have to wait and see…

That’s all that I have picked right now, though I have a sneaking suspicion that I may throw a 4th book in the mix at the last minute. No worries, I’ve already investigated and the town that we’re staying in has a book shop. Just in case*.

*Not really a “just in case.” I make it a point of visiting an independent book shop everywhere we go to vacation, and adding to my library. Currently, I’ve got picks from Block Island, Martha’s Vineyard (where Obama recently stocked up, boo yah!) and Lake Placid. Books are way cooler than tee-shirts.

2 thoughts on “Honeymoon Plan: Read ALL The Things!

  1. I literally laughed out loud when I read this, “She and I. Not me and “the others” in my head.” You’re priceless.

    Thanks so much for your kind words! You make me all blushy and stuttery, but the stuttering doesn’t come across at all in the typing.

    T-minus three days until you’re all married and stuff. WOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

Leave a Reply

