Recent Reads: Why It’s Been Quiet Over Here

Immediately after finishing PWNED, I headed back to attack the other novels that I’d brought on the honeymoon. The first one I decided to tackle was George R.R. Martin’s “Game of Thrones.” I’d heard a lot of hype about the HBO series and the recent release of the fifth book, “A Dance with Dragons.” Of course, anyone that’s read “Game of Thrones” knows that that sucker clocks in at just over 800 pages, and each of the subsequent installments is just as hefty.

I’m loving it to death (it’s totally “Lord of the Rings” + Sex)(And the characters, zomg!), and speeding to the end, but the recent holiday excitement has been limiting my reading time. I did make sure to ask Santa for some more installments in Martin’s saga, and I’ve got my fingers crossed that he’ll allow me to stay in Westeros for a while longer.

In addition to “Game,” I’ve got some other great reads staring me impatiently in the face. For starters, there are four books in Jean Auel’s “Earth’s Children” series just waiting for me to witniss some prehistoric lovin’.

Next in line is the new Jane Green novel “Another Piece of my Heart,” which I was lucky enough to grab an advance copy of through Goodreads. Jane Green is the one who really turned me on to reading chick lit back in 2003 while I was working at the library and happened to check out a copy of “Jemima J.” Since then, I’ve been following her releases eagerly. This one is shaping up to be a doozy, so I can’t wait to get a review posted.

I was thrilled to get a text from Army Boy on Friday letting me know that my Secret Santa/Fairy Bookmother Angela had struck again, sending me another totally awesome surprise package. Look, look!!

Why yes, that IS an autographed edition of “Clockwork Prince,” second book in the “Infernal Devices” trilogy. I’m eager to see what happened after the tense conclusion of the first novel, and return to some angsty Shadowhunter action.

In short, I’ve got a TON of great reads on my shelf, and am eager to get to each and every one of them! I’m not neglecting the “Reads” part of my blog in favor of honeymoon tales, I’m just making sure that I have LOTS of material. Stay tuned!

One thought on “Recent Reads: Why It’s Been Quiet Over Here

  1. Earth’s Children Book 6 just came out actually! Have you finished Game of Thrones yet…? You’ll be itching for book 6 of that! But Earth’s Children is a really good one, too.

Leave a Reply

