TxtingMrDarcy Reads: Gettin’ Kinky Edition

“Fifty Shades of Grey”~ E.L. James

Plot Summary (From Amazon): When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Soundtrack: “The Ruler and The Killer” ~Kid Cudi
Yes, I’ve been listening to the “Hunger Games” soundtrack a lot… This has great gritty guitar, a constant drumbeat and lyrics that just knock it out of the park,

“When I talk you should listen
All of you belong to me
Come on would you get it going?
What I want is specific
Respect what I have done for thee…”

AMIRITE? Something tells me that when he’s not listening to classical, Christian is playing the shit out of this song in the Red Room of Pain.

I don’t even know where to start with this book. Maybe I’ll start with the biggest surprise to me: I LIKED IT. I had low expectations going in, especially after seeing that the ladies at Forever Young Adult, whose opinions I hugely value, gave it a “did not finish.”

However, the book’s origin as a piece of Twilight fan-fiction, coupled with the sudden mass publicity it got perked my interest and I knew that I was willing to “take one for the team” and give it a read. You’re WELCOME, Internet.

YES, this book does contain sex. A lot of it. Some of which is a bit more unusual that what I’ve come across in my typical romance novel reading. If you think that might be a deal-breaker for you, I’d recommend staying away from this one. Was it as shockingly filthy as I expected based on the hype? Aw, hell no. I agree that the writing isn’t technically the best, but I certainly didn’t go into it expecting something award-worthy.

However, and this is what came as a surprise to me, it’s also very funny at times. Ana is learning about Christian and his tastes along with the reader, and her character lets us know it’s ok to be a little weirded out. We’re not simply asked to accept that he’s a complicated kinkster, and Ana doesn’t immediately lose her mind and get on board with his plan to make her his Submissive. She’s conflicted, and the occasional notes from her prudish Subconscious and free-spirited Inner Goddess provide amusing commentary.

This probably comes as a surprise to nobody, but I was a HUGE “Twilight” fan back as the books were coming out. To this day, I have no logical explanation for my obsession, other than that there MUST have been subliminal drugs between the lines of Stephenie Meyer’s story. I looked forward to analyzing this from the perspective of someone intimately acquainted with the Twilight books, as that isn’t exactly the audience that this book has attracted.

YES, there are some very thinly veiled character changes. Jacob, Charlie, and Renee are barely disguised, while a few others are trickier to guess at. Ana’s roommate Kate is supposed to be based on Rosalie, but she seems much more like Alice personality-wise.  Ana shares many quirks with Bella, down to fussing with her unmanageable hair and biting her lip. However, Ana seems to have much more personality than I remember from Bella, as well as her drive to succeed independently of Christian’s influence. Bella had no ambition apart from marrying Eddy-bear and living happily ever after, forever and ever.

The one person who truly bothered me at first was Christian. He is NOT Edward Cullen, and that’s where I firmly stand. He takes Edward’s initial protectiveness to the extreme, and is far more volatile than the character that supposedly inspired him ever was. In fact, he’s kind of an asshole. Edward’s deep dark secret was that he was a vampire, and couldn’t be with Bella without potentially killing her. Removing that element and making Christian a predator of a different kind IS an original idea. Edward’s chivalry and old-fashioned morals have been replaced by the guidelines of the contract drawn up between Ana and Christian.

Between the escapism of Ana’s exposure to Christian’s seemingly endless wealth, to the steamy sexual exploits, I raced through this book and have preordered the other two installments in the series. While I might not necessarily recommend it to my mom, I’m definitely passing on the word to some of my friends.

To borrow from the witty and creative Jess, who is one of my partners in crime at The Readers Café: This one gets Four out of Five grey silk ties. 😉

2 thoughts on “TxtingMrDarcy Reads: Gettin’ Kinky Edition

  1. Pingback: TxtingMrDarcy Reads: “Let’s Go Jump Off Some Buildings!” Edition « Txting Mr Darcy

  2. Pingback: Divergent~ Veronica Roth « The Readers Cafe

Leave a Reply

